It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medical Marijuana and Cannabis Industry: Library Databases + Journals
Medical Marijuana is a topic that intersects with many disciplines including Medicine, Pharmacy, Business, and Psychology. Fortunately, the library has an easy way to conduct inter-disciplinary research, ourPrimo search tool, which searches the entirety of the library.
Tips for searching Primo:
Login: Loginto your library account using your USciences credentials. Searching while logged in enables users to save search queries and search results and also facilitates interlibrary loan requests.
Keyword Searching: Use only keywords when searching primo. For example, someone researching the use of medical marijuana in treating Fibromyalgia would search "medical marijuana fibromyalgia"
Research is a Process: Repeat searches using synonyms for your keywords and try both narrower and broader terms. For example: "cannabis fibromyalgia" or "cannabis pain management"
Filter: Set limits on your search to weed out irrelevant or outdated results and hone in on what you want. For example, when searching for journal articles select "Peer-Reviewed Journals" under "Resource Type". Setting a date range will ensure your results are up to date.
"Shop": think like a shopper and use the "pin" icon to gather a selection of sources as you would place items in an online shopping cart. Give yourself enough options so that you can go through and select the "best-fit" sources for your search.
Index to journals in nursing, medical technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant studies, and other allied heath disciplines. Also includes a selection of pharmacy and pharmacology titles.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" page that is set to search only CINAHL.
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use a USciences link to PubMed for quick access to the library’s journal holdings. To set up your own account, see How to Create and Use a My NCBI Account (https://guides.library.usciences.edu/myncbi).
A collection of pharmaceutical resources that include:
• DrugDex: drug monographs with extensive reference lists;
• Martindale: information on worldwide drugs and related substances;
• Index Nominum: international drug directory;
• Red Book: drug product and pricing data.
• Trissel's IV Compatibility
*Note: Micromedex is licensed for educational purposes only; access is for current students and university employees. Micromedex may not be used at an affiliated hospital or patient care facility.
For best results, the developers of Micromedex recommended using Internet Explorer 9 or higher. The platform also supports the latest versions of Firefox, Chrome, and Safari.
Abstracts and citations to literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database indexes items such as journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" page that is set to search only APA PsycINFO.
Faculty, staff, and students must register by following the above link to New York Times. Thereafter, access from off-campus will require users to sign into their New York Times account to browse and search articles.