Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Finding Journal Articles
ABI/INFORM Collection (via ProQuest)
Index to business and management information, including many full text articles.
Business Source Premier (via EBSCO)
Use the Business Searching Interface to search the full text of 2,300 journals, company and industry reports, and more. Includes SWOT analyses of companies and market reports.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (via EBSCO)
Index to journals in nursing, medical technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant studies, and other allied heath disciplines. Also includes a selection of pharmacy and pharmacology titles.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" page that is set to search only CINAHL.
Cochrane Library (via Wiley)
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). CDSR has both full systematic reviews on specific topics and protocols for systematic reviews in process. CENTRAL contains citations of articles reporting on clinical trials, but it does not include the full text of articles.
JSTOR is a digital archive of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use a USciences link to PubMed for quick access to the library’s journal holdings. To set up your own account, see How to Create and Use a My NCBI Account (https://guides.library.usciences.edu/myncbi).
Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)
Full text of the Wall Street Journal.
Other Resources and Websites
Health Statistics (National Library of Medicine)
This free guide helps users locate sources of health statistics and other numerical data. The page provides an overview of health statistics and lists helpful resources and related topics.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
The Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Kaiser Family Foundation
KFF is an endowed, nonprofit organization filling the need for trusted, independent information on national health issues.
British Journal of Healthcare Management
Published 12 times a year, British Journal of Healthcare Management publishes peer-review clinical and research articles, news analysis, topical content and commentaries from leading figures in the health service.
International Journal of Health Economics and Management
The focus of the International Journal of Health Economics and Management is on health care systems and on the behavior of consumers, patients, and providers of such services.
Journal of Healthcare Leadership
The journal strives to provide up-to-date trends on theoretical and best practices in healthcare, and insights into leadership progress and effective solutions to improve patient care, to both current and future healthcare leaders.
Journal of Healthcare Management
JHM is a peer-reviewed publication dedicated to providing healthcare leaders with the information they need to manage complex healthcare issues and to make effective strategic decisions.
Journal of Healthcare Risk Management:
The Journal publishes work related to evidence-based health care risk management, enterprise risk management which includes: clinical risk management, patient safety, quality improvement, risk financing, claims and litigation, health care preparedness, risk management tools and techniques, the health care risk management workforce, and other timely risk management issues.
Risk Management and Healthcare Policy
Risk Management and Healthcare Policy is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal focusing on all aspects of public health, policy and preventative measures to promote good health and improve morbidity and mortality in the population.
Books & e-Books
There are several ways to search for books and e-books in the library collection:
Primo serves as the library's catalog and discovery system. You can search for print and e-books in Primo, along with other types of resources like journals, scholarly articles, dissertations, and newspaper articles.
This guide describes the library's major e-book collections and discusses how to search for and download e-books.
If the library doesn't have a book you need, try E-ZBorrow. E-ZBorrow connects the USciences library with other academic libraries in the region.
Primo searches the library's holdings, including journal articles and books, whether they are online or in paper.
Tips for searching Primo:
- Login: Login to your library account using your USciences credentials. Searching while logged in enables users to save search queries and search results. Searching while logged in also facilitates interlibrary loan requests.
- Keyword Searching: Use only keywords when searching Primo. For example, someone interested in the genomics of mental illness might search: genomics mental illness
- Research is a Process: Repeat searches using synonyms for your keywords and try both narrower and broader terms. For example: genetic sequencing schizophrenia or genetics depression
- Filter: Set limits on your search to weed out irrelevant or outdated results and hone in on what you want. For example, set a date-range limit or select a particular format such as "peer-reviewed journals."
- "Shop": think like a shopper and use the "pin" icon to gather a selection of sources as you would place items in an online shopping cart. Give yourself enough options so that you can go through and select the "best-fit" sources for your search.
For more on searching Primo, check out our Introduction to Primo video.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google’s tool for searching scholarly literature.
- Just search using the field below. In your search results, look for the Find Full Text USciences link next to individual results and click it to access full text via our e-resource subscriptions. (The link should only appear next to items available in our collection.)
- If you do not see the Find Full Text USciences link next to an item, look beneath the citation for a blue chevron sign (>>) and click on it. You may then see a link that says GetIt@USciences that can help you find the full text of the article.
Important Note: Google Scholar's search results are not exhaustive, so do not assume that you have found "everything" on your topic via Scholar. It is just one tool to employ in your searches.
Citing Your Sources
How to Write a Reference
Our guide to commonly used citation styles.
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.