Physics: Home

If you are looking for peer-reviewed, scholarly content from the library's subscription databases and collections, begin with Primo or Access Science (both are in the e-Resources box, below). If you don't find what you're looking for there, move on to the More e-Resources box for more subscription content. 

If you are looking for good, free sources, try the Other e-Resources box. Included here are links to the websites of scholarly and professional societies with content and collections related to physics. Some content may not be free of charge, e.g., some research papers may be citation only (not full-text).

If you are looking for books, start with Primo. If you don't find what you need there, you can borrow print books from another library via E-ZBorrow (in the Requests menu on the library's homepage).

Scroll further down this page to learn how to cite your sources, and more.

Need help?  Use the Ask a Librarian link to send us an e-mail or text, or to tweet your question to us.

• Search Tip: Use the filters on the right side of the results list to narrow your search by type of resource (such as article or book), subject, date, language, and other criteria.

• Search Tip: Physics is a top-level topic which includes many subheadings. Go to Advanced Search, and on the Advanced Search page, locate the Search within... section. Click the Topic(s) field to reveal a dropdown menu; choose Physics from this dropdown to populate this field. Now enter your search terms in the appropriate fields above before and clicking Go.

• Search Tip: Use Advanced Search. To limit your results to physics articles, type physics in one of the search boxes, and use the drop-down menu to limit that field to Subject heading (all) - SU. Then enter your search terms in the other search boxes and click "Search".

• Search Tip: Choose the Physics collection from the Browse by discipline sidebar on the left. Now, enter your search terms at any time to search within the Physics content. You can further Refine Your Search by making selections on the sidebar. You may want to uncheck Include Preview-Only content.

• Search Tip: Use Advanced Search. Before proceeding with your search, locate the Refine your search options and check Subscribed publications; then locate the dropdown menu just beneath and select Physics and Astronomy. Then enter your search terms in the search fields before clicking Search.

• Search Tip: Less recommended, however, this source contains some papers on applied physics in industry and medicine. To search, choose EBSCOhost Research Databases from the top menu. Now, from the Choose Databases page, select databases to include in your search (recommended: Biological Abstracts, Business Source Premier, and International Pharmaceutical Abstracts). Before proceeding, type physics in one of your search boxes, and use the drop-down menu to limit that search box to SU Subject Terms . Then enter your search terms in the other search boxes and click "Search". Consider limiting results to Linked Full Text and/or Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals (when these options are present).

Need to use a different style? Check out our How to Write a Reference guide.

Google Scholar is Google’s tool for searching scholarly literature.

• Just search using the field below. In your search results, look for the Find Full Text USciences link next to individual results and click it to access full text via our e-resource subscriptions. (The link should only appear next to items available in our collection.)
• If you do not see the Find Full Text USciences link next to an item, look beneath the citation for a blue chevron sign (>>) and click on it.  You may then see a link that says GetIt@USciences that can help you find the full text of the article.

Important Note: Google Scholar's search results are not exhaustive, so do not assume that you have found "everything" on your topic via Scholar. It is just one tool to employ in your searches.