Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Predatory Journal?
Predatory journals are online free journals that promise to provide quick peer review for submitted articles, but which instead send authors large bills for publishing articles without providing the promised peer review. Predatory journals hurt the readers of their articles by claiming that the articles have been reviewed by experts, when they have not.
This guide includes resources and suggestions to help you determine whether or not to use a particular online journal.
Resources For Identifying Predatory Journals
Think. Check. Submit helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.
Directory of Open Acess Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
Library Databases and Predatory Journals
Most library databases include only articles from reputable journals and most library databases make public the list of journals they index. Here are two ways to use those lists:
- Before you submit an article to a journal, check to see if that journal is indexed in the database(s) you use.
- If you find an article from a source other than a database, check to see if that journal is indexed in the database(s) used most in that academic discipline.
Google Scholar does not make judgments about the journals it finds and predatory journal articles have appeared in Google Scholar results. Before you use an article found in Google Scholar, evaluate the journal using the resources above.
Need Help Determining if a Journal is Reputable?
The librarians at the Joseph W. England Library will help you to determine if a particular journal is reputable or predatory. Use the Ask a Librarian link on this page to send us a message.