Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APA PsycInfo (via EBSCOhost)
Abstracts and citations to literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database indexes items such as journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" page that is set to search only APA PsycINFO.
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use a USciences link to PubMed for quick access to the library’s journal holdings. To set up your own account, see How to Create and Use a My NCBI Account (https://guides.library.usciences.edu/myncbi).
Cochrane Library (via Wiley)
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). CDSR has both full systematic reviews on specific topics and protocols for systematic reviews in process. CENTRAL contains citations of articles reporting on clinical trials, but it does not include the full text of articles.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) (via EBSCOhost)
Provides keyword access to citations for measurement instruments in the health, psychosocial, organizational behavior, and library science fields.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" page that is set to search only HAPI.
Research Library (via ProQuest)
Covers the humanities, sciences, and social sciences and includes many full-text articles.
DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Ed.
The DSM-5 is published by the American Psychiatric Association and covers all mental health disorders for both children and adults. It also lists known causes of these disorders, statistics in terms of gender, age at onset, and prognosis as well as some research concerning the optimal treatment approaches.
APA PsycArticles (via EBSCOhost)
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" page that is set to search only APA PsycARTICLES.
JSTOR is a digital archive of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google’s tool for searching scholarly literature.
- Just search using the field below. In your search results, look for the Find Full Text USciences link next to individual results and click it to access full text via our e-resource subscriptions. (The link should only appear next to items available in our collection.)
- If you do not see the Find Full Text USciences link next to an item, look beneath the citation for a blue chevron sign (>>) and click on it. You may then see a link that says GetIt@USciences that can help you find the full text of the article.
Important Note: Google Scholar's search results are not exhaustive, so do not assume that you have found "everything" on your topic via Scholar. It is just one tool to employ in your searches.
Books & e-Books
There are several ways to search for books and e-books in the library collection:
Primo serves as the library's catalog and discovery system. You can search for print and e-books in Primo, along with other types of resources like journals, scholarly articles, dissertations, and newspaper articles.
This guide describes the library's major e-book collections and discusses how to search for and download e-books.
If the library doesn't have a book you need, try E-ZBorrow. E-ZBorrow connects the USciences library with other academic libraries in the region.
Citing Your Sources
American Psychological Association (APA) Style
Other Citation Resources
- Current users may continue to login and use this platform but are encouraged to migrate to the New Refworks at their earliest convenience.
- Users may migrate their accounts to New RefWorks at any time by choosing the "Move to the newest version of RefWorks from ProQuest" link when logged into the "legacy" platform, and then following these steps. However, it is not advisable to migrate to the new platform while you are engaged in a writing project and actively using RefWorks. Any document that is begun using legacy Refworks must be finished using legacy RefWorks, rather than the new platform.
- See our How to Write a Reference page (https://library.usciences.edu/help/how-to-write-a-reference.asp#2) to learn more about Refworks' "Write-N-Cite" plugin for MS Word (available for PC and Mac).
- New users of Refworks are encouraged to use New Refworks rather than the legacy platform.
- First-time users must create their own unique account and password to access RefWorks. Look for the "Create Account" link on the RefWorks homepage.
- Your email address and RefWorks password are used to access RefWorks both on and off-campus.
Featured Books from Our Collection
Abnormal Psychology by
Call Number: WM 100 B422 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Abnormal Psychology: A Scientist–Practitioner Approach portrays the human face of various psychological conditions, helping students to understand that abnormal behavior is complex and subject to many different forces. The authors bring abnormal psychology to life via a scientist—practitioner approach that integrates biological data with research from the social and behavioral sciences.
Hijacked Brains by
Call Number: WM 270 B261
Publication Date: 2015
This book, written from the perspective of a practicing primary care physician, interweaves patients’ stories with fascinating new brain research to show how addictive drugs overtake basic brain functions and transform them to create a chronic illness that is very difficult to treat.
The Personality Puzzle by
Call Number: BF 698 F981 2016
Publication Date: 2015
The Personality Puzzle is an introduction to the theory of personality. It suggests that the existence of several basic theoretical frameworks can enrich the teaching of the psychology of personality. The 7th edition features new material on important research areas such as development and health, streamlined presentation of methods and assessment, and added data graphics in full-color.