Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Finding Journal Articles
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use a USciences link to PubMed for quick access to the library’s journal holdings. To set up your own account, see How to Create and Use a My NCBI Account (https://guides.library.usciences.edu/myncbi).
ABI/INFORM Collection (via ProQuest)
Index to business and management information, including many full text articles.
Business Source Premier (via EBSCO)
Use the Business Searching Interface to search the full text of 2,300 journals, company and industry reports, and more. Includes SWOT analyses of companies and market reports.
American Mathematical Society database providing electronic access to Mathematical Reviews, which contains easily searchable reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Research Library (via ProQuest)
Covers the humanities, sciences, and social sciences and includes many full-text articles.
Primo searches the library's holdings, including journal articles and books, whether they are online or in paper.
Tips for searching Primo:
- Login: Login to your library account using your USciences credentials. Searching while logged in enables users to save search queries and search results. Searching while logged in also facilitates interlibrary loan requests.
- Keyword Searching: Use only keywords when searching Primo. For example, someone interested in the genomics of mental illness might search: genomics mental illness
- Research is a Process: Repeat searches using synonyms for your keywords and try both narrower and broader terms. For example: genetic sequencing schizophrenia or genetics depression
- Filter: Set limits on your search to weed out irrelevant or outdated results and hone in on what you want. For example, set a date-range limit or select a particular format such as "peer-reviewed journals."
- "Shop": think like a shopper and use the "pin" icon to gather a selection of sources as you would place items in an online shopping cart. Give yourself enough options so that you can go through and select the "best-fit" sources for your search.
For more on searching Primo, check out our Introduction to Primo video.
Citing Your Sources
How to Write a Reference
Our guide to commonly used citation styles.
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.