Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Finding Journal Articles
Biological Abstracts (via EBSCO)
Citations and abstracts for about 6500 biological and biomedical research journals. The library’s subscription begins with 1997.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" page that is set to search only Biological Abstracts.
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use a USciences link to PubMed for quick access to the library’s journal holdings. To set up your own account, see How to Create and Use a My NCBI Account (https://guides.library.usciences.edu/myncbi).
Some Resources in the Biological Sciences Available from the Library (USciences username and password required)
A collection of journals published by biology associations, museums, and other organizations. The journals may be searched at the BioOne site or through Primo (see Quick Links sidebar); most of them are also indexed in Biological Abstracts.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior, 2nd ed.
This work is arranged by the major topics of animal behavior, such as communication and predator-prey interactions. Within each section is a series of articles covering the different aspects of the topic.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
A peer-reviewed video journal demonstrating laboratory techniques and methods. Videos may be found by searching the journal's site or by searching Primo with the link in the Quick Links menu on the right. The library subscribes to these sections of JoVE:
Some Resources in the Biological Sciences Available Free on the Internet
Some Resources for Information about Life on Earth
The projects below cooperate with each other to provide free access to information about life on Earth. Each one specializes in particular kinds of information about known forms of life.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google’s tool for searching scholarly literature.
- Just search using the field below. In your search results, look for the Find Full Text USciences link next to individual results and click it to access full text via our e-resource subscriptions. (The link should only appear next to items available in our collection.)
- If you do not see the Find Full Text USciences link next to an item, look beneath the citation for a blue chevron sign (>>) and click on it. You may then see a link that says GetIt@USciences that can help you find the full text of the article.
Important Note: Google Scholar's search results are not exhaustive, so do not assume that you have found "everything" on your topic via Scholar. It is just one tool to employ in your searches.