Skip to main content
USciences Home JW England Library Homepage

Find e-Books

Find and use e-books for your academic and personal research.

New for Fall 2016 - Ebook Subscription Package Trials

Two new ebook packages are currently available for trial access until December 2016.  For both platforms, books may be read onscreen or downloaded to a computer, eReader, or mobile device. Books have unlimited simultaneous users and may be used for classroom instruction or research. Details on each package are below.  To send us feedback or suggestions regarding these ebook trials, please use the Library Suggestion Box.

  • ebrary [Trial]  
    • Over 160,000 ebooks are available from the following packages: Academic Complete, College Complete, Public Library Complete, and University Press collection.
    • To download an ebook, you will first have to create a personal account in ebrary.  All books may be checked out/downloaded for 14 days.
    • Download ebooks to your computer: You may download books to your laptop or desktop but must first install Adobe Digital Editions.  After downloading a book to your PC, you can transfer it to your eReader [Kindles are not compatible with these books].  Step-by-step instructions are available here.
    • Download ebooks to your mobile device:  Books may be downloaded to Android or iOS devices.  You will need the Bluefire Reader app to access the books.  Complete instructions are located here.
  • EBSCO eBooks [Trial]
    • Over 170,000 ebooks are available in the following packages:  Academic, Business, History, Religion, Clinical, EngineeringCore, and University Press collection.
    • To download an ebook, you will first have to create a personal My EBSCOhost account.  Most books may be checked out/downloaded for 14 days at a time.
    • Download books to your computer or mobile device:   E-book Checkout/Download Quick Guide 

Introduction

The J.W. England Library provides access to e-books in two main ways.  First, we have added a selection of titles directly to the Library's collection, which can be accessed through Our Journal List/e-Book List or through the library catalog. Second, we subscribe to an e-book database from EBSCO called the eBook Collectionwhich includes thousands of e-books and can be searched much like our other databases. Complete details on each of these access methods can be found below.

E-Books in the USciences collection

E-books in the Library's direct collection can be accessed through either Our Journal List/e-Book List or through cataLyst, the library catalog.

  • Our Journal List/e-Book List is the easiest way to access our e-books.  Be sure to click on the e-Books tab to highlight it before looking for a book.  You can either run a search or browse the titles alphabetically.
  • Our Catalog (cataLyst) also has records for e-books.  E-books are denoted by the words "[electronic resource]" in the title and also have a note that says "Location: e-Books"
    • When doing a search, if you'd like to see only e-books in your results, select "e-Books" under Quick Limit.
    • If you are more concerned about subject matter and less focused on the book's format (print v. electronic), set the Quick Limit to "Books," and the catalog will return both print and e-books in your results.

EBSCO's eBook Collection

eBook Collection is a subscription database that provides access to thousands of e-books across many subjects and disciplines.  You can search or browse for e-books much as you might look for articles in our other databases.

When you open this database you will see the eBooks landing page, which features galleries of highlighted titles and allows you to browse individual categories.  You can do a basic search on this main screen, or click on "Advanced Search" to access EBSCO's familiar searching interface.

Reading e-books onscreen is easy.  Simply click on a title of interest and select "eBook Full Text" to read the book in EBSCO's online viewer.  If you're signed into EBSCOhost using a My EBSCOhost account, you can also save the book to a Folder to read later. 

Checkout/Download: You can also checkout books and download them to your computer, eReader, or mobile device.  Complete directions for downloading e-books are posted below.  Books can be checked out for either 7 or 14 days and are available in either PDF or EPUB format.  Once the checkout period is over, the e-book will no longer appear on your device and will be returned to the EBSCO platform for others to read and download.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian graphic

Quick Links