An alphabetical list of library databases.
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2014
- ABI/INFORM Complete (via ProQuest)
Index to business and management information, including hundreds of full text articles.
Access to more than 75 medical titles.
Pharmacy textbooks, case studies, drug reference, calculators and more.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia Collection of Science and Technology and more.
- AHFS Drug Information (via STAT!Ref)
Federally designated drug compendium issued by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
- ACS Journals
Access journals published by the American Chemical Society.
- The ACS Style Guide, 3rd Ed.
The American Chemical Society's writing style guide for scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
• See the "References" section in Part 2, Chapter 14 for direction on citations.
• A hard copy is also on reserve at the Library's Circulation Desk.
- AMA Manual of Style, 10th Ed.
Writing style guide for medical and scientific publishing.
• A hard copy is also on reserve at the Library's Circulation Desk.
- Biological Abstracts (via EBSCOhost)
Citations and abstracts for about 6500 biological and biomedical research journals. The library’s subscription begins with 1997; contact the library about searching for years prior to 1997.
Searchable collection of journals published by biology associations and societies. The library subscribes to some collections which are available full text. Find full text access to these titles via Our Journal List/e-Book List (see Quick Links sidebar).
- Business Source Premier (via EBSCOhost)
Use the Enhanced Business Interface to search the full text of 2,300 journals, company and industry reports, and more. Includes SWOT analyses of companies and market reports.
Includes the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, the Dictionary of Organic Compounds and the Dictionary of Natural Products.
- Chronicle of Higher Education (via LexisNexis)
Weekly newspaper specializing in higher education. Limited full text of current issues available in LexisNexis. See Our Journal List/e-Book List for other full text options.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (via EBSCOhost)
Index to journals in nursing, medical technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant studies, and other allied heath disciplines. Also includes a selection of pharmacy and pharmacology titles.
- The Cochrane Library (via Wiley)
Consists of the following databases:
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
• Cochrane Methodology Register
• Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
• Health Technology Assessment Database
• NHS Economic Evaluation Database
- CQ Researcher
In-depth reports on current social and political topics. Each report includes statistics and references to other reliable sources.
- Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment
Primary care and internal medicine topics, updated annually.
- DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Ed.
The DSM-5 is published by the American Psychiatric Association and covers all mental health disorders for both children and adults. It also lists known causes of these disorders, statistics in terms of gender, age at onset, and prognosis as well as some research concerning the optimal treatment approaches.
- Dissertations and Theses (via ProQuest)
Searchable database of over 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and masters theses.
- Dissertations and Theses @ University of the Sciences
Searchable database of dissertations and theses from USciences students.
- eBook Collection (via EBSCOhost)
Search for and access e-books in all disciplines via EBSCO's eBook Collection.
Gateway to all current EBSCO subscriptions including EBSCOhost Research Databases, Business Searching Interface, Biological Abstracts, CINAHL with Full Text, PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, HAPI, and the EBSCO eBook Collection.
- ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
Publicly available database of education research and information sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Articles are usually available only in citation format with an abstract or short description of the work.
• To check availability in our holdings, click “Find in a Library" beside a citation.
- Facts and Comparisons
Content includes Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interactions Facts, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Review of Natural Products, and more.
Search for citations to articles in a variety of journals, plus books from WorldCat.
- Food Chemicals Codex
The FCC is a compendium of internationally recognized standards for the purity and identity of food ingredients.
- German Commission E Monographs
Monographs describing the therapeutic use of herbs and phytomedicines.
- Goodman & Gilman's
Pharmacology text that discusses the application of pharmacodynamics to therapeutics.
- Google Scholar
Google's search for scholarly articles. Searching Scholar via this link will cause search results to display links to USciences' holdings. Just look for the "Find Full Text at USciences" link in your results.
- Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Classic internal medicine textbook.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) (via EBSCOhost)
Provides keyword access to citations for measurement instruments in the health, psychosocial, organizational behavior, and library science fields.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" which is set to search only HAPI.
- HealthStar (via Ovid)
Indexes the literature on health services, technology, administration and research.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (via Ovid)
Index to over 700 pharmacy journals, many not included in PubMed. IPA is searched through Ovid which includes other databases and full-text journals.
JSTOR is a digital archive of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures
Access through Lexicomp and click on I.V. Compatibility.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
"Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."
Drug information. Includes the King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures.
- LexisNexis Academic
Access to documents and records from legal, news, and business sources.
Dictionary of medical abbreviations. Based on "Medical Abbreviations: 32,000 Conveniences at the Expense of Communication and Safety, 15th ed." by Dr. Neil M. Davis. Contains "over 37,000 possible meanings for the acronyms, symbols, abbreviations, and slang terms listed."
- Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics
The USciences subscription also includes access to:
• Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy
• Treatment Guidelines from the Medical Letter
• Adverse Drug Reactions database
- MedDRA: Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities
MedDRA is a medical terminology used to classify adverse event information associated with the use of biopharmaceuticals and other medical products (e.g., medical devices and vaccines). Coding these data to a standard set of MedDRA terms allows health authorities and the biopharmaceutical industry to more readily exchange and analyze data related to the safe use of medical products.
- The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - 19th Ed. (via STAT!Ref)
General medical reference book for health care professionals.
A collection of pharmaceutical resources that include:
• DrugDex: drug monographs with extensive reference lists;
• Martindale: information on worldwide drugs and related substances;
• Index Nominum: international drug directory;
• Red Book: drug product and pricing data.
*Note: Micromedex is licensed for educational purposes only; access is for current students and university employees. Micromedex may not be used at an affiliated hospital or patient care facility.
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy’s database of state’s pharmacy laws.
• NABPLAW requires a special username and password, both on and off-campus. Just click the link above to access these credentials.
- NAPLEX Easy
Test preparation for the NAPLEX exam. Currently available through May 31, 2016.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (via Gale)
Contains reports on current issues which examine the pros and cons of particular aspects of the issue. Reports contain links to related full text documents from various media, including periodicals, images and audio/video.
A bibliographic database produced by the American Occupational Therapy Association.
Search interface for International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) and Medline, among others.
PharmacyLibrary features content from the American Pharmacists Association's (APhA) textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, a collection of Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
- Philadelphia Inquirer
Searchable full text of Philadelphia's major newspaper.
- Pink Sheet
Online version (current 18 months) of the weekly publication that covers the prescription pharmaceutical industry.
- Project Muse
Searchable full text of academic journals in the arts and humanities.
- Professional Development Collection (Via EBSCOhost)
Database of education journals designed for professional educators.
• click on "EBSCOhost Research Databases" to find Professional Development Collection.
Accessing ProQuest via this link offers combined search of ABI/INFORM Complete, BioOne Abstracts & Indexes, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I, and ProQuest Research Library.
- ProQuest Research Library
Searchable full text database of articles in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- PsycARTICLES (via EBSCOhost)
American Psychological Association (APA) database providing full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" which is set to search only PsycARTICLES
- PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost)
American Psychological Association (APA) database providing abstracts and citations to literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
• Note: This URL links directly to an EBSCOhost "Advanced Search" which is set to search only PsycINFO.
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use the USciences link to PubMed so that you can access the library’s journal holdings.
- R&D Insight
Clinical and financial information about drugs in the pipeline.
• R&D Insight requires a special username and password, both on and off-campus. Just click the link above to access these credentials.
- Red Book
Drug product and pricing data. Access through Micromedex. See "RED BOOK Online®" link on top navigation bar.
- Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases (via STAT!Ref)
Clinical recommendations on the diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood conditions. Produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics's Committee on Infectious Diseases in conjunction with the CDC and the FDA.
RefWorks is a citation management tool for creating bibliographies. Refworks can take a reference from PubMed or other databases and automatically put in the citation style of your choice. Tutorials are included on the RefWorks site to help you get started using this useful tool. Please note:
• First-time users must create their own unique Login Name and Password to access RefWorks. Look for the "Sign Up for a New Account" link on the RefWorks homepage.
• The Login Name and Password are used to access RefWorks both on and off-campus.
• See our How to Write a Reference page (www.usciences.edu/library/help/how-to-write-a-reference.asp) to learn more about Refworks' "Write-N-Cite" plugin for MS Word (available for PC and Mac)
- Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy - 22nd Ed.
Online version of the classic reference book.
- Research Library (ProQuest)
Searchable full text database of articles in the sciences and social sciences.
- Review of Natural Products
Available in Facts and Comparisons. Over 300 monographs describing natural products including clinical information.
Web-based access to chemistry literature.
- Science Direct
Searchable collection of over 2,500 journals from Elsevier publishers. The library subscribes to over 1,100 which are available full text.
Over 1500 journals in the sciences and social sciences.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (via ProQuest)
A summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
The following medical and pharmaceutical texts are available in STAT!Ref:
• AAFP Conditions A to Z
• AHFS Drug Information
• Merck Manual
• Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
- USP Dictionary of USAN and International Drug Names
The USP Dictionary of United States Adopted Names (USAN) and International Drug Names is the leading reference for nonproprietary drug names and chemical structures.
• This resource allows access for 1 user at a time. To help ensure timely access for all users, please click the blue LOGOUT button (toward the top right) at the end of your session.
• If you cannot access this resource, please try again in one hour.
- USP-NF: United States Pharmacopeia and The National Formulary
Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations.
- Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)
Full text of the Wall Street Journal.
- Wiley Journals
Collection of journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Click Submit to let us know about a resource that you would like to see on this page.