e-Resources
- PubMed
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use the USciences link to PubMed so that you can access the library’s journal holdings - CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (via EBSCO)
Index to journals in nursing, medical technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant and other allied heath disciplines (though not pharmacy). - The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - 19th Ed. (via STAT!Ref)
General medical reference book for health care professionals.
How to Find Journals
Quick instructions for searching Our Journal List
1. Access Our Journal List (also located in the Quick Links section which appears on the side of most pages). This tool allows you to search the library’s full text and print journals holdings.
2. Enter all or part of the journal title in the Quick Search box and click Search; Make sure you enter a journal title and not an article title.
3. Titles matching your search will be displayed. Note the Online Coverage column which shows the date range of full text onlineholdings for each title.
4. Online Journals - To see a journal that is available online, click on its checkmark link (
) under Full Text Access. The link should take you directly to the online journal where you can locate your article. If you are off-campus, you will need a valid username and password to view most online articles. Some online journal articles are not available from off-campus due to vendor or technical barriers.
5. Print Holdings - To see which volumes of a journal title the library holds, click on the checkmark link (
) under Print Holdings. The link will take you to the title's entry in cataLyst, the library's catalog (Sometimes instead of a single entry, a results list will appear). Scroll down through the entry to find the location of the journal and the library's holdings. Most bound and unbound journals are on the library's second floor.
Or view a video tutorial on basic searching [3:23min]
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google’s search tool for finding scholarly articles. On campus? Search using the field below. Off-campus visitors should use this Google Scholar link instead.
In your search results, look for the Find Full Text at USciences link and click it for full text. (The link only appears next to full text items in our online collection.)
Citing Your Sources
- AMA Manual of Style

- How to Write a Reference
Our guide to commonly used citation styles.
Medical eBooks
- Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2011
Primary care and internal medicine topics, updated annually. - Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Classic internal medicine textbook. - STAT!Ref
The following medical and pharmaceutical texts are available in STAT!Ref:
• AAFP Conditions A to Z
• AHFS Drug Information
• DSM-IV-TR
• Merck Manual
• Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
Featured Books from Our Collection
Click a title/author link to check availability in the library catalog (cataLyst); A status of Not Charged indicates the book is available.
• Brand new practice questions and updated exam information;
• Two full-length practice exams;
• Detailed answer explanations so you know which questions you answered correctly and which sections you need extra practice on;
• Analysis of all question types;
• Kaplan’s exclusive and proven score-raising strategies for taking the computer-based test;
• Information on recertification for the PANCE/PANRE, which is required every six years;
• This latest edition of the Kaplan Medical PANCE offers updated, comprehensive strategies, practice, and review fully aligned to match the latest version of the exam as well as pertinent steps to becoming a certified PA.
• Organizes information by disease and presents it in a concise outline format-so it's easy to find, absorb, and use.
• Uses a logical, consistent approach for each health condition: Definition · History · Physical Examination · Patho¬physiology · Diagnostic Studies · Differential Diagnosis · Treatment · Pediatric Considerations · Obstetrical Considerations · Geriatric Considerations · and Prevention.
• Features "Pearls for the PA" to help readers provide optimal patient care.
• Covers brand-new topics such as Congenital Heart Disease · Abdominal Trauma · General Principles of ACLS · Metabolic Bone Disease · Cholicystitis · Bartholins Cyst/Abcess · Normal Pregnancy and Complications · Arterio¬sclerosis Obliterans · Embolism/Thrombosis · Head Injury · Hydrocephalus · Meningioma · Subarachnoid · Adrenal/Renal Cancer · Gastric Cancer · Glioma · Liver Tumor · Musculoskeletal Tumor · Pancreatic Cancer · Testicular Cancer · Uterine Cancer · Epistaxis · Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder · Pulmonary Contusion · Foot · Fractures · Spine · Strain/Sprain · Incontinence · Hydrocele · Hypospadius · Testicular Torsion Varicocele · and Anesthesia.
• Includes information on geriatric considerations and preventive medicine for every disease and disorder..
• Offers a new full-color insert with 48 photographs depicting some of the most common dermatologic problems."
Books
- Library Catalog (cataLyst)
Search the library catalog for books on your topic.
Use the link, above, to enter the full catalog interface, or use the Search field at the top of this guide after choosing "Library Catalog (cataLyst)" from the drop-down to do a quick search. - E-ZBorrow
If you don't find what you're looking for in the Library Catalog, you can use E-ZBorrow to borrow books from other libraries.
Use the 14-digit "Lib" number on the front of your ID card to login to E-ZBorrow.
Your Professional Organizations
- American Academy of Physician Assistants
Publisher of Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (JAAPA). To check library holdings of JAAPA, visit Our Journal List under Quick Links and search for "JAAPA". - National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA)
"Established in 1975, NCCPA is the only certifying organization for physician assistants in the United States. All U.S. states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. territories have decided to rely on NCCPA certification as one of the criteria for licensure or regulation of physician assistants. More than 97,000 physician assistants have been certified by NCCPA since 1975, and approximately 85,000 are certified today."
Ask A Librarian
Type your question to view some suggested answers; If you don't find the answer you are looking for, just click Ask and submit your question.
Send Us Your Feedback
Rate this Guide using any or all of the following buttons and fields. To suggest a link for inclusion in this guide, use the "Submit A Link" form, below.
Thanks for your feedback!
Submit a Link
Click Submit to let us know about a resource that you would like to see on this page.

Submit
Loading...
