e-Resources
- OTSearch
A bibliographic database produced by the American Occupational Therapy Association. - CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (via EBSCO)
Index to journals in nursing, medical technology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant and other allied heath disciplines (though not pharmacy). - PubMed
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use the USciences link to PubMed so that you can access the library’s journal holdings - PsycINFO (via Ovid)
American Psychological Association (APA) database providing abstracts and citations to literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. - ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Publicly available database of education research and information sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Articles are usually available only in citation format with an abstract or short description of the work.
• To check availability in our holdings, click “Find in a Library" beside a citation. - The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - 19th Ed. (via STAT!Ref)
General medical reference book for health care professionals.
Other Resources
- REHABDATA (from NARIC)
REHABDATA is a database that focuses on disability and rehabilitation and is produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC). "The database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities." - AOTA
The American Occupational Therapy Association provides a number of services, including lowcost delivery of articles from its library (members pay less) and access to Evidence-Based Practice Resources (members only). - OTSeeker
OTSeeker attempts to include all systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials that are of use to practice in occupational therapy. - DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Ed. Text Revision (via STAT!Ref)
The DSM-IV is published by the American Psychiatric Association and covers all mental health disorders for both children and adults. It also lists known causes of these disorders, statistics in terms of gender, age at onset, and prognosis as well as some research concerning the optimal treatment approaches. The online version of this manual is accessed through Stat-Ref. - National Guideline Clearinghouse
The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use. - Agency for Healthcare Quality & Research (U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services. - Evidence Based Occupational Therapy
A "web portal to support evidence-based practice OT around the world ...designed in partnership with international colleagues to provide strategies, knowledge and resources to aid occupational therapists in finding out about and using evidence."
How to Find Journals
Quick instructions for searching Our Journal List
1. Access Our Journal List (also located in the Quick Links section which appears on the side of most pages). This tool allows you to search the library’s full text and print journals holdings.
2. Enter all or part of the journal title in the Quick Search box and click Search; Make sure you enter a journal title and not an article title.
3. Titles matching your search will be displayed. Note the Online Coverage column which shows the date range of full text onlineholdings for each title.
4. Online Journals - To see a journal that is available online, click on its checkmark link (
) under Full Text Access. The link should take you directly to the online journal where you can locate your article. If you are off-campus, you will need a valid username and password to view most online articles. Some online journal articles are not available from off-campus due to vendor or technical barriers.
5. Print Holdings - To see which volumes of a journal title the library holds, click on the checkmark link (
) under Print Holdings. The link will take you to the title's entry in cataLyst, the library's catalog (Sometimes instead of a single entry, a results list will appear). Scroll down through the entry to find the location of the journal and the library's holdings. Most bound and unbound journals are on the library's second floor.
Or view a video tutorial on basic searching [3:23min]
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google’s search tool for finding scholarly articles. On campus? Search using the field below. Off-campus visitors should use this Google Scholar link instead.
In your search results, look for the Find Full Text at USciences link and click it for full text. (The link only appears next to full text items in our online collection.)
Citing Your Sources
American Psychological Association (APA) - For Social Scientists and OT's
- The APA Publication Manual is available on Reserve at the Circulation Desk. In addition, the accompanying website has a useful Frequently Asked Questions seciton.
- View more examples of citations of electronic and paper sources.
- How to Write a Reference
Our guide to commonly used citation styles.
Featured Books from Our Collection
Click a title/author link to check availability in the library catalog (cataLyst); A status of Not Charged indicates the book is available.
This edition includes new chapters on vision disorders, muscular dystrophy, infectious diseases, and developmental trauma disorder. The expanded art program includes more photos, drawings, charts, and graphs."
• Discusses evidence-based practices and established theories but also includes contemporary developments
• Range of expert contributors provide an international perspective of practice
• Case studies highlighting the application of theory to practice
• Details of the latest developments and debates in the field
• 2 chapters on the PEOP model and community-based rehabilitation
• Highlight boxes throughout indicating key themes/issues"
Books
- Library Catalog (cataLyst)
Search the library catalog for books on your topic.
Use the link, above, to enter the full catalog interface, or use the Search field at the top of this guide after choosing "Library Catalog (cataLyst)" from the drop-down to do a quick search. - E-ZBorrow
If you don't find what you're looking for in the Library Catalog, you can use E-ZBorrow to borrow books from other libraries.
Use the 14-digit "Lib" number on the front of your ID card to login to E-ZBorrow.
Ask A Librarian
Type your question to view some suggested answers; If you don't find the answer you are looking for, just click Ask and submit your question.
Send Us Your Feedback
Rate this Guide using any or all of the following buttons and fields. To suggest a link for inclusion in this guide, use the "Submit A Link" form, below.
Thanks for your feedback!
Submit a Link
Click Submit to let us know about a resource that you would like to see on this page.

Submit
Loading...
