This is the "Medicine" page of the "Medicine & EBM" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
USciences Home JW England Library Homepage

Medicine & EBM  

A guide to researching topics in medicine and evidence-based medicine (EBM).
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.usciences.edu/MedicineAndEBM Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Medicine Print Page
  Search: 
 

Medicine e-Resources

How to Find Journals

Quick instructions for searching Our Journal List

1.    Access Our Journal List (also located in the Quick Links section which appears on the side of most pages).  This tool allows you to search the library’s full text and print journals holdings. 

2.    Enter all or part of the journal title in the Quick Search box and click Search;  Make sure you enter a journal title and not an article title.

3.     Titles matching your search will be displayed. Note the Online Coverage column which shows the date range of full text onlineholdings for each title.  

4.    Online Journals - To see a journal that is available online, click on its checkmark link  (fulltext and print checkmark) under Full Text Access. The link should take you directly to the online journal where you can locate your article.  If you are off-campus, you will need a valid username and password to view most online articles.  Some online journal articles are not available from off-campus due to vendor or technical barriers.

5.    Print Holdings - To see which volumes of a journal title the library holds, click on the checkmark link  (fulltext and print checkmark) under Print Holdings.  The link will take you to the title's entry in cataLyst, the library's catalog (Sometimes instead of a single entry, a results list will appear).  Scroll down through the entry to find the location of the journal and the library's holdings.  Most bound and unbound journals are on the library's second floor.

Or view a video tutorial on basic searching  [3:23min]

      

    Search Google Scholar

    Google Scholar is Google’s search tool for finding scholarly articles. On campus? Search using the field below. Off-campus visitors should use this Google Scholar link instead.

    In your search results, look for the Find Full Text at USciences link and click it for full text. (The link only appears next to full text items in our online collection.)



    Medical eBooks

     

    Featured Books from Our Collection

    Click a title/author link to check availability in the library catalog (cataLyst)A status of Not Charged indicates the book is available.

    Cover Art
    The Language of Medicine - Davi-Ellen Chabner
    Call Number: W 15 C428 2011
    ISBN: 9781437705706
    Publication Date: 2010-01-27
    The market-leader in medical terminology, Chabner's popular, proven The Language of Medicine brings medical language to life and helps you develop the understanding to communicate fluently in the healthcare setting. Terms and complex medical processes are accessible and easy to understand at all learning levels with an approach that explains terms in the context of anatomy and physiology, as well as how the body works in health and disease. Organized by body system, this combined text/workbook details additional key areas of health care, such as cancer and psychiatry, and is accompanied by full-color illustrations, exercises, and unique supplemental resources that reinforce your comprehension and help you establish the practical foundation for a successful career in healthcare.

     

    Books

    • Library Catalog (cataLyst)  
      Rating
      Search the library catalog for books on your topic.
      Use the link, above, to enter the full catalog interface, or use the Search field at the top of this guide after choosing "Library Catalog (cataLyst)" from the drop-down to do a quick search.
    • E-ZBorrow  
      Rating
      If you don't find what you're looking for in the Library Catalog, you can use E-ZBorrow to borrow books from other libraries.
      Use the 14-digit "Lib" number on the front of your ID card to login to E-ZBorrow.

    Ask A Librarian

    Type your question to view some suggested answers; If you don't find the answer you are looking for,  just click Ask and submit your question.

     

    Send Us Your Feedback

    Rate this Guide using any or all of the following buttons and fields. To suggest a link for inclusion in this guide, use the "Submit A Link" form, below.

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Submit a Link

    Click Submit to let us know about a resource that you would like to see on this page.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip