e-Resources
- ProQuest Research Library
Searchable full text database of articles in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. - PubMed
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use the USciences link to PubMed so that you can access the library’s journal holdings - Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)
Fulltext of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.
Other Law Resources
- FDsys
FDsys is a database of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). Use it to search Codes of Federal Regulations (CFR), U.S. Code, Supreme Court Decisions, and Public and Private Laws of the Congress going back to 1995. - USA.gov/State Goverment
Search U.S. state regulations and codes from this directory within the USA.gov site.
Health Policy Journals
Among the health policy journals the USciences library receives are these listed below.
Check Our Journal List for these and other titles.
· American Journal of Managed Care -- print+internet
· American Journal of Public Health -- internet
· Ethics and Medicine -- internet
· Hastings Center Report -- internet
· Health Affairs -- internet
· Health Care Analysis -- internet
· Health Care Financing Review -- internet
· Health Policy and Planning -- internet (12 month embargo)
· Health Services and Outcomes Research Methodology -- internet
· International Journal of Health Care Finance and Economics -- internet
· Journal of Behavioral Health Services and Research -- internet
· Journal of Health Care Finance -- internet
· Journal of Healthcare Management -- internet
· Journal of Health, Politics, Policy and Law -- internet
· Milbank Quarterly -- internet (12 month embargo)
· Modern Healthcare -- internet
Need an article from a journal we don't have? We'll get it for you through ILLiad.
How to Find Journals
Quick instructions for searching Our Journal List
1. Access Our Journal List (also located in the Quick Links section which appears on the side of most pages). This tool allows you to search the library’s full text and print journals holdings.
2. Enter all or part of the journal title in the Quick Search box and click Search; Make sure you enter a journal title and not an article title.
3. Titles matching your search will be displayed. Note the Online Coverage column which shows the date range of full text onlineholdings for each title.
4. Online Journals - To see a journal that is available online, click on its checkmark link (
) under Full Text Access. The link should take you directly to the online journal where you can locate your article. If you are off-campus, you will need a valid username and password to view most online articles. Some online journal articles are not available from off-campus due to vendor or technical barriers.
5. Print Holdings - To see which volumes of a journal title the library holds, click on the checkmark link (
) under Print Holdings. The link will take you to the title's entry in cataLyst, the library's catalog (Sometimes instead of a single entry, a results list will appear). Scroll down through the entry to find the location of the journal and the library's holdings. Most bound and unbound journals are on the library's second floor.
Or view a video tutorial on basic searching [3:23min]
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google’s search tool for finding scholarly articles. On campus? Search using the field below. Off-campus visitors should use this Google Scholar link instead.
In your search results, look for the Find Full Text at USciences link and click it for full text. (The link only appears next to full text items in our online collection.)
Featured Books from Our Collection
Click a title/author link to check availability in the library catalog (cataLyst); A status of Not Charged indicates the book is available.
Features:
• Covers the 2010 Affordable Care Act;
• Coverage of structure, organization, and financing of the health care system;
• Key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples are skillfully interwoven in each chapter to make important issues interesting and understandable;
• Clinical vignettes clarify difficult concepts and demonstrate how they apply to real-world situations;
• Comprehensive list of review questions reinforce what you have learned;
A unique and authoritative guide to the US safety-net health care system, Health Care at the Margins addresses how various populations and their difficult health and socio-economic issues are dealt with and impacted by the system. Drs. Gunnar Almgren and Taryn Lindhorst, experts in the fields of social work and public health, provide critical, much-needed insight into the safety-net system and how the recession, unemployment, and reform have accelerated its growth.
Ideal for graduate students and early professionals in the health professions, this textbook:- Includes narratives from patients and caregivers that will help readers understand and empathize with the poor, homeless, and other vulnerable populations affected by the safety net system
- Discusses various health issues, including: violence, chronic diseases, mental illness, victimization, and substance abuse/addiction
- Examines overlaps in US public health, social work, nursing, and medical education
- Analyzes the differences between the populations that depend on safety-net system providers and more advantaged populations that have access to the mainstream health care system
Key Features:
• Includes major provisions of the Patient Protection and Affordable Health Care Act of 2010;
• Each chapter includes these special features: key concepts; extensive mapping resources; key words; learning objectives; discussion questions; and case studies
• Covers the newest models of care, such as Accountable Care Organizations and Integrated Delivery Systems
• Examines new ways of conceptualizing and assessing health care, including comparative effectiveness research
• Contains new coverage of health reform, developing countries, population health, public health and catastrophic events, and a broadened discussion of the health care workforce
Books
- Library Catalog (cataLyst)
Search the library catalog for books on your topic.
Use the link, above, to enter the full catalog interface, or use the Search field at the top of this guide after choosing "Library Catalog (cataLyst)" from the drop-down to do a quick search. - E-ZBorrow
If you don't find what you're looking for in the Library Catalog, you can use E-ZBorrow to borrow books from other libraries.
Use the 14-digit "Lib" number on the front of your ID card to login to E-ZBorrow.
Ask A Librarian
Type your question to view some suggested answers; If you don't find the answer you are looking for, just click Ask and submit your question.
Send Us Your Feedback
Rate this Guide using any or all of the following buttons and fields. To suggest a link for inclusion in this guide, use the "Submit A Link" form, below.
Thanks for your feedback!
Submit a Link
Click Submit to let us know about a resource that you would like to see on this page.

Submit
Loading...
