e-Resources
- Center for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM)
"CEBM was established in Oxford as the first of several UK centers with the aim of promoting evidence-based health care; Provides free support and resources to doctors, clinicians, teachers and others interested in learning more about EBM." - University of Washington Health Links
An EBM guide produced by the Health Sciences Library at University of Washington. - Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Toronto)

- Evidence Based Occupational Therapy
A "web portal to support evidence-based practice OT around the world ...designed in partnership with international colleagues to provide strategies, knowledge and resources to aid occupational therapists in finding out about and using evidence." - Netting the Evidence
This tool allows you to search over one hundred web sites associated with the methodology of evidence based practice. - Formulating the Search
Excellent evidence based practice tutorial produced by the University of N. Carolina. - The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - 19th Ed. (via STAT!Ref)
General medical reference book for health care professionals.
Locating Evidence
- PubMed
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use the USciences link to PubMed so that you can access the library’s journal holdings - Hooked on Evidence
A project of the American Physical Therapy Association, a cooperative effort to provide critiques of studies in areas of concern to PT's. Available free to APTA members. - PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro attempts to include all systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials that are of use to practice in physical therapy. A model for other health professions. - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The agency funds 12 centers across the United States for the purpose of "synthesizing scientific evidence to improve quality and effectiveness in health care." - The Cochrane Library (via Ovid)
Consists of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Registry of Clinical Trials, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE). - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
Also includes other databases from the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.
DARE contains critical analyses of systematic reviews; the other available databases include assessments of health economics articles and information on health technology assessments. USciences users also may search DARE through Ovid (see link immediately above this entry). - National Guideline Clearinghouse
Compiled by a government agency; guidelines included must meet certain criteria. - SumSearch2
SumSearch provides guided searching to Medline, DARE and NGC as well as metasearching of selected free websites. - The Research Methods Knowledge Base
A basic textbook on evaluating research. Latest edition (online or in print) must be purchased.
Collections of Evidence (available through subscription)
- Ovid
Search interface for PsycInfo, Evidence Based Medicine databases, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) and Medline, among others. - Clinical Evidence
Therapeutic recommendations based on evidence. Prepared by BMJ. - Essential Evidence Plus

- Physicians' Information and Education Resource (PIER)
Evidence-based clinical guidance created by the American College of Physicians.
Selected Journal Articles
EBM articles by Trisha Greenhalgh, from July through September, 1997 BMJ
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: the Medline database. BMJ. 1997 July 19; 315(7101): 180–183. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: getting your bearings (deciding what the paper is about). BMJ. 1997 July 26; 315(7102): 243–246. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: assessing the methodological quality of published papers. BMJ. 1997 August 2; 315(7103): 305–308. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: statistics for the non-statistician. I: Different types of data need different statistical tests. BMJ. 1997 August 9; 315(7104): 364–366. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: statistics for the non-statistician. II: "Significant" relations and their pitfalls. BMJ. 1997 August 16; 315(7105): 422–425. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: papers that report drug trials. BMJ. 1997 August 23; 315(7106): 480–483. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: papers that report diagnostic or screening tests. BMJ. 1997 August 30; 315(7107): 540–543. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: papers that tell you what things cost (economic analyses). BMJ. 1997 September 6; 315(7108): 596–599. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. How to read a paper: papers that summarise other papers (systematic reviews and meta-analyses). BMJ. 1997 September 13; 315(7109): 672–675. Available free from PubMed Central.
· Greenhalgh, T. and R. Taylor. How to read a paper: papers that go beyond numbers (qualitative research). BMJ. 1997 September 20; 315(7110): 740–743. Available free from PubMed Central.
How to Find Journals
Quick instructions for searching Our Journal List
1. Access Our Journal List (also located in the Quick Links section which appears on the side of most pages). This tool allows you to search the library’s full text and print journals holdings.
2. Enter all or part of the journal title in the Quick Search box and click Search; Make sure you enter a journal title and not an article title.
3. Titles matching your search will be displayed. Note the Online Coverage column which shows the date range of full text onlineholdings for each title.
4. Online Journals - To see a journal that is available online, click on its checkmark link (
) under Full Text Access. The link should take you directly to the online journal where you can locate your article. If you are off-campus, you will need a valid username and password to view most online articles. Some online journal articles are not available from off-campus due to vendor or technical barriers.
5. Print Holdings - To see which volumes of a journal title the library holds, click on the checkmark link (
) under Print Holdings. The link will take you to the title's entry in cataLyst, the library's catalog (Sometimes instead of a single entry, a results list will appear). Scroll down through the entry to find the location of the journal and the library's holdings. Most bound and unbound journals are on the library's second floor.
Or view a video tutorial on basic searching [3:23min]
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google’s search tool for finding scholarly articles. On campus? Search using the field below. Off-campus visitors should use this Google Scholar link instead.
In your search results, look for the Find Full Text at USciences link and click it for full text. (The link only appears next to full text items in our online collection.)
Citing Your Sources
- AMA Manual of Style

- How to Write a Reference
Our guide to commonly used citation styles.
Featured Books from Our Collection
Click a title/author link to check availability in the library catalog (cataLyst); A status of Not Charged indicates the book is available.
• A systems-based approach to differential screening and diagnosis make it easy for Physical Therapists to find information and understand it in light of other systems issues.
• Case studies provide real-world examples.
• New chapter on how physical assessment provides baseline-screening information to better explain the progression of the screening process.
• Includes new information on musculoskeletal problems.
• A separate chapter on pain introduces the concept of pain as a screening tool.
• An entire section is devoted to systematic origins of pain to demonstrate how regional pain should be approached in screening for particular disorders.
• Introductory information on the newer medical screening concepts sets the stage for how screening is presented in the rest of the book.
Books
- Library Catalog (cataLyst)
Search the library catalog for books on your topic.
Use the link, above, to enter the full catalog interface, or use the Search field at the top of this guide after choosing "Library Catalog (cataLyst)" from the drop-down to do a quick search. - E-ZBorrow
If you don't find what you're looking for in the Library Catalog, you can use E-ZBorrow to borrow books from other libraries.
Use the 14-digit "Lib" number on the front of your ID card to login to E-ZBorrow.
Ask A Librarian
Type your question to view some suggested answers; If you don't find the answer you are looking for, just click Ask and submit your question.
Send Us Your Feedback
Rate this Guide using any or all of the following buttons and fields. To suggest a link for inclusion in this guide, use the "Submit A Link" form, below.
Thanks for your feedback!
Submit a Link
Click Submit to let us know about a resource that you would like to see on this page.

Submit
Loading...
