e-Resources
- SciFinder
Web-based access to chemistry literature. - PubMed
One of the largest biomedical databases, PubMed includes both clinical and basic research. Use the USciences link to PubMed so that you can access the library’s journal holdings - International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (via Ovid)
"Worldwide, comprehensive bibliographic coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature."
Journals
- ACS Journals
Access journals published by the American Chemical Society. - Our Journal List
Search for individual journals and articles in the library's collection of e-journals.
Other Resources
- CHEMnetBASE
Includes the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, the Dictionary of Organic Compounds and the Dictionary of Natural Products. - Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
"Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed." - SIRCh - Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry
"A guide to the many sources of reference materials available to those with questions related to chemistry, regardless of the format. Included are printed books, journals, and reference materials, as well as both free and commercial databases, software, and other computer-accessible resources." - ChemSpider
"A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources."
How to Find Journals
Quick instructions for searching Our Journal List
1. Access Our Journal List (also located in the Quick Links section which appears on the side of most pages). This tool allows you to search the library’s full text and print journals holdings.
2. Enter all or part of the journal title in the Quick Search box and click Search; Make sure you enter a journal title and not an article title.
3. Titles matching your search will be displayed. Note the Online Coverage column which shows the date range of full text onlineholdings for each title.
4. Online Journals - To see a journal that is available online, click on its checkmark link (
) under Full Text Access. The link should take you directly to the online journal where you can locate your article. If you are off-campus, you will need a valid username and password to view most online articles. Some online journal articles are not available from off-campus due to vendor or technical barriers.
5. Print Holdings - To see which volumes of a journal title the library holds, click on the checkmark link (
) under Print Holdings. The link will take you to the title's entry in cataLyst, the library's catalog (Sometimes instead of a single entry, a results list will appear). Scroll down through the entry to find the location of the journal and the library's holdings. Most bound and unbound journals are on the library's second floor.
Or view a video tutorial on basic searching [3:23min]
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google’s search tool for finding scholarly articles. On campus? Search using the field below. Off-campus visitors should use this Google Scholar link instead.
In your search results, look for the Find Full Text at USciences link and click it for full text. (The link only appears next to full text items in our online collection.)
Citing Your Sources
- American Chemical Society
(ACS) Citation Style - How to Write a Reference
Our guide to commonly used citation styles.
Featured Books from Our Collection
Click a title/author link to check availability in the library catalog (cataLyst); A status of Not Charged indicates the book is available.
Books
- Library Catalog (cataLyst)
Search the library catalog for books on your topic.
Use the link, above, to enter the full catalog interface, or use the Search field at the top of this guide after choosing "Library Catalog (cataLyst)" from the drop-down to do a quick search. - E-ZBorrow
If you don't find what you're looking for in the Library Catalog, you can use E-ZBorrow to borrow books from other libraries.
Use the 14-digit "Lib" number on the front of your ID card to login to E-ZBorrow.
Ask A Librarian
Type your question to view some suggested answers; If you don't find the answer you are looking for, just click Ask and submit your question.
Send Us Your Feedback
Rate this Guide using any or all of the following buttons and fields. To suggest a link for inclusion in this guide, use the "Submit A Link" form, below.
Thanks for your feedback!
Submit a Link
Click Submit to let us know about a resource that you would like to see on this page.

Submit
Loading...
